Doing things correctly


Publish on: 2016-09-01
Category: Residential Construction

To complete any repair, renovation, redesign, construction, expansion, replacement and reinforcement work, it is essential to follow the steps to ensure that the project is completed successfully and on budget.

The following steps must be considered:

  • Identification of needs

We usually do not care for renovation work but rather the results it yields (bigger space, removal of a wall, addition of surface, etc.). By identifying needs, we can determine the work to be completed according to the client’s expectations. This step is the foundation on which plan and specification design is based.

  • Feasibility

Whether deficiencies must be corrected or modifications must be made to your building, it is important to establish the existing conditions to determine what must (and may have to) be done to achieve the desired result.

  • Assessment of the budget

With knowledge of the constraints of the existing components of the project and the projected work, costs must be estimated to establish the budget. The budget is an essential tool to determine the work to select when preparing the plans.

  • Planning/design – Preparation of plans and specifications

When the project is clearly defined, the plans and specifications will indicate the specifications that will guide the labourers in the execution of the work. Plans and specifications are the means of communication between the client and entrepreneur. They are used as reference to know what the project entails.

  • Completion according to sound professional procedures and practices

The work methods must allow for the work to be carried out according to the plan specifications in order to obtain results that meet your expectations. The work is monitored on site to ensure the quality requested.

Faire les choses dans l’ordre


Publié le : 2016-09-01
Catégorie(s) : Résidentiel Construction

Que ce soit pour entreprendre des travaux de réparation, de rénovation, de réaménagement, de construction, d’agrandissement, de remplacement, de renforcement, etc., il est primordial de suivre les étapes pour assurer le bon déroulement du projet et de respecter le budget établi.

Les étapes à considérer sont les suivantes :

  • Détermination des besoins

Généralement, ce ne sont pas des travaux de rénovation que l’on désire, mais bien les résultats (espace plus grand, retrait d’un mur, ajout de surfaces, etc.). La détermination des besoins permettra de déterminer les travaux à réaliser selon les attentes du client. Cette étape est la base sur laquelle la conception des plans et devis repose.

  • Faisabilité

Que ce soit des déficiences à corriger ou des modifications à apporter à votre bâtiment, il faut établir les conditions existantes pour déterminer ce qui doit être (et peut être) fait pour obtenir le résultat souhaité.

  • Évaluation budgétaire

En connaissance des contraintes des éléments existants du projet et des travaux projetés, une estimation des coûts doit être réalisée pour établir le budget. Le budget est un outil essentiel pour déterminer les travaux à retenir lors de la préparation des plans.

  • Planification/conception – Préparation de plans et devis

Lorsque le projet est clairement défini, les plans et devis indiqueront les spécifications qui guideront les ouvriers dans l’exécution des travaux. Les plans et les devis sont le véhicule de communication entre le client et l’entrepreneur. La référence de ce qui doit être réalisé dans le cadre du projet.

  • Réalisation selon les règles de l’art

Les méthodes de travail doivent permettre la réalisation de travaux selon les spécifications aux plans afin d’obtenir des résultats à la hauteur de vos attentes. La surveillance des travaux en chantier sert à assurer la qualité réclamée.